Always be learning, Attitude, Education, Opinion, Self help, Self Improvement

“He Works Best Who Knows His Trade”

Know Your Trade

Have you ever wonder if you know everything that you’re supposed to know about your trade? 

I mean really???

A lot of people seem to think that if they go to college, get a degree in something, that’s all they have to do to be successful at what they’re getting into. 

They rarely see that the chance of them becoming uninterested in what they’re studying is high. Or that the skill they’re spending so much time learning about may not be in demand or may become obsolete in the near future… They just want to finish their schooling, get the paper and be done with it. 

They forget that many people have degrees yet still cannot find employment in their field of study.

Nevertheless, there are those lucky ones who do and are very happy. 

However, there are also those who don’t. They spend years regretting time wasted and contemplating what to do next? 

Rarely do people ask themselves; “Have I learned all that there is to know about my field of study?” Or, “What more can I learn?” Or, ” Is there another option available to me, if not actual similar?”. 

No-one, after years of studying a particular field of interest is prone to going back and learning more about that particular interest that they initially began studying… Chances are no.

They most likely would take what knowledge they can then move on to the next interest. Which may or may not be a good idea, It depends.

Do you know your trade like the back of your hand?

The ins and outs?

If asked to explain your trade to someone that knows absolutely nothing about it. Training them and providing enough information to get them started on their way on doing exactly what you do… Can you? Would you?

If you know your job, you can work best of all… If you’re concerned about competition then you obviously don’t know your trade as well as you may think you do.

There may be many that can do the job you can do, but do they know the trade like you? 

Recently, I have noticed a huge amount of spin-offs on my trade of live, recorded and written music reviews.

Those creative individuals work hard to make themselves as unique as possible. Yet will hardly come close to what I’m capable of doing or can hardly keep up with the knowledge that I have obtained with years of combined training and experience. 

Each person should know what their capabilities are and should be able to explain to any other person, the methodology involving their trade.

They should be able to relay exactly what they do. How to do it and how to keep doing it.

They should be able to teach it to other individuals simply and efficiently. 

That’s what makes me exceptional at what I do. I am confident enough to know that I am #1 at underground, unsigned and unheard music reviews.

I have an extensive “unproven” background in the music business from since I was a teenager. (Unproven ONLY because of the lack of recent technological advances that I didn’t have access to back in the day or access to the many different and current types of recording equipment that are available to us now that weren’t available to us back then.).

Here is a small list of my talents and skills.

1. I have been transcribing music onto paper since 1984. Preparing music sheets for Copyright©. 

2. I’ve been playing the piano/keyboards for YEARS… As long as I can remember.

3. I can listen to any music piece and play all parts. May take a few listens but I can play the piece.

4. I was one of the very first people to do Live music reviews in 2014 and 2015… Right on Facebook…    (Now look how many people are doing the same thing!) I moved on from that because too many people are doing it now… (Go figure, its time for something else.).

5.I just know my s**t… (When writing music reviews, one must have a grasp of what the artist was thinking while creating the track, (My specialty). Not just listen to the music piece and talk about it…

6. I can tell how the artist was feeling and what motivated them to write the music score by just listening to the lyrics. Also, if the music was created using actual instruments versus being created with digital equipment.

7. I have built up an enormous contact list of popular and experienced music professionals. Professionals that are into commercial advertisement, journalism, performing arts and have been in the business of helping unheard artists get their music out to the public and heard by eager listeners. These Professionals are also in search of new talent and are willing to teach their trade to others as well. My contacts also have extensive track records in the music business also in the production and recording business.

Know Your Worth

The reason why I no longer write music reviews is because I know my worth… 

I Can’t do freebies anymore and some people don’t want to pay, are reluctant to pay or can’t afford my editorial services.

Plus… It takes time to review a musical piece. Time is money💁.

You can’t just listen to a recording and just #talk about the artist without discussing the other aspects involved… Like how the artist got to where he or she is right now… Everybody has a story…

Also just like promotion, providing artist links, creating discographies, assembling graphics and general support or business referrals… (Which some people do for themselves but others have no clue on how to do or what looks good or what graphics/video/advertisment fit with the music score, etc.).

I know my trade… That’s what makes me and my services Unique. 😊

I’m proud of the work that I have done for companies such as Exposed Vocals and others that have nothing to do with the industry.

My music reviews and work history are exclusive…

My Live music reviews would be unique because of what I know how to do.

I Don’t just stick to one or two genres… I go across the board… I tackle #All types of music genres. No specific kind of music, although I have my favorites.

I read music… I write music… I transcribe music… I create music… I produce… I sing… I dance… I act…

But most of all I share what I know… So that others can benefit… Whether it be benefiting by doing what I do or something else.

I love it when people are motivated and hundreds of people have been motivated by my efforts into becoming professional with my hobbies such as making music or photography.


I have even advised people…

I have created legal documents, such as contracts etc.

Even created a list of interview questions many years ago, (those are the questions that I used to ask artists in general), during exclusive interviews.

I know my trade…👊😎

So do you know your trade? 

Can you teach others what you do?

Are you willing to? 

What 

If you are and you do, then you know your trade well… That makes for a person that does their job very well indeed! 

 

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.